Chiang Mai Geography

geographyChiang Mai is the capital of the northern region and is situated 761 kms. by rail or approximately 700 kms. by road north of Bangkok. Chiang Mai is administratively divided into 22 districts:
  • Muang
  • Chiang Dao
  • Chom Thong
  • Omkoi
  • San Pa Tong
  • Doi Saket
  • Doi Tao
  • Fang
  • San Kamphaeng
  • Wiang Haeng
  • Hang Dong
  • Hod
  • Mae Ai
  • Saraphi
  • Samoeng
  • Mae Chaem
  • Mae Rim
  • Mae Taeng
  • Phrao
  • San Sai
Located between north latitude 17-21 and east longitude 98-99, the province of Chiang Mai is found in the upper area of Thailand’s northwestern region. The Chiang Mai valley is 310 meters or 1,027 feet above sea level. The widest point of the province measures 136 kms. or 85 miles, and the longest 320 kms. or 200 miles. To the north a 277 kms. or 141.82 miles stretch of mountains divides Chiang Mai’s northern districts of Fang and Mae Ai from Myanmar’s (Burma’s) Chiang Tung (Shan) State. In certain sections, the Kok River acts as a border between Chiang Mai and Myanmar. On the east, Chiang Mai is bordered by the Chiang Rai, Lampang, and Lamphun provinces. The Mae Tuen River, Ream Mountain, and Luang Mountain separate Chiang Mai’s South from the province of Tak. Some portions of Chiang Mai’s south also border the Lamphun province. To the west, Chiang Mai is bordered by Mae Hong Son province.